David Gemmell Awards for Fantasy: Legend Award

David Gemmell Awards for Fantasy: Legend Award

The Legend Award - Snaga (Gemmell Awards)

Arthur had his sword in the stone.

The Legend award has its axe on the podium.

Snaga the Sender. The Blades of no Return. The axe of Druss the Legend, himself. And the prize of the peoples’ champion, whomever they choose. Because Legends are not born – they are made.

The Legend award, one of three categories in the David Gemmell Awards for Fantasy, celebrates the best traditionally-published fantasy novel in the past year. It invites you, anyone and everyone, to judge a selection of authors and their works and vote for your favourite.

This year’s shortlist nominees are:

  • John Gwynne, Wrath (Tor)
  • Jay Kristoff, Nevernight (Harper Voyager)
  • Mark Lawrence, The Wheel of Osheim (Harper Voyager)
  • Brandon Sanderson, The Bands of Mourning (Gollancz)
  • Gav Thorpe, Warbeast (Black Library)

Previous winners include names known across the circle of the world such as Patrick Rothfuss and Brent Weeks – as well as names known within their own circle of fans, such as Graham McNeil for Empire (set in the world of Warhammer from Games Workshop) and Andrej Sapkowski for Blood of Elves (from the popular Witcher series, the novels the games are based on). And that’s not forgetting the two-time winning authors Brandon Sanderson and Mark Lawrence.

As I said before (and again, please stay your pitchforks), this list bears a remarkable resemblance to the Ravenheart (best cover art) category, in that it’s a line-up of the usual names and faces. I’d go one further this time (please, no prodding, those things are sharp) and say that the nominees for the Legend category bear a remarkable resemblance to last year and the year before that.

And you can see why – these authors are on the top of their game, and as such have a legion of fans roaring from the stands. The contenders will win or lose on your word – so vote, and crown a victor!

And next year, we’ll do it all again. Likely with more than a few familiar faces…but maybe, just maybe, we’ll crown a new Legend, one that has never been seen before on the shortlists.

Because Legends are made – and in this, we can make legends real.

Voting on the shortlists closes on Friday 2nd June. Cast your votes on the David Gemmell Awards official website HERE. The awards will be presented on the 15th July 2017, at the Edge-Lit 6 event in Derby.


Title image courtesy of FantasyMagazine.it

*Please note: this article was originally posted on Fantasy Faction.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s